AWBW/FEBW Forum
It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Making Maps larger...?

Critique and discuss the design maps on AWBW

Moderator: Forum Mods

Making Maps larger...?

Postby TheUltimaDragon » Sat Dec 18, 2010 2:18 pm

I only started playing this Yesterday, but I love strategy games. I like to create maps, but the 40x40 is just not creative enough. I have searched for a while and have not found a way to actually do it. Can it be done? Am I even aloud to do it? I have seen some pretty large maps, and I would like to create things like those.

Thanks

P.S. Sorry if this is in the wrong section, I couldn't find one that fit this specifically.
TheUltimaDragon
Infantry
Infantry

Re: Making Maps larger...?

Postby Heartless » Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:40 pm

If it's not a sprite/joke map, then you should never make a map that has dimensions above 40x40. I speak from experience when I say they're very boring to play on and require much more than creativity to be great. 40x40 might not seem that big to a newbie, but really, it's huge. So yes, it CAN be done, but it shouldn't be if you're trying to be a serious map maker.
Heartless
Md. Tank
Md. Tank

Postby blanci1 » Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:41 am

Actually I think "largeness" is not the main problem with large maps. It is really probably the number of cities and bases etc and concurrent infantry spam and high unit numbers that causes large maps to be boring. It ends up like 2 or 3 normal maps stuck together, which is just more clicking.

However, if we keep the number of bases and cities down say to a similar total as a normal size map , then that may work out quite well and somewhat different gameplaywise than the norm. ( Im thinking here of some specific maps..like red11s "lions" by lake map, that worked nicely, though it doesnt have to be predeployed) . The Game will need relatively more movement and directs and more transports. Could be fun.